Book Reviews

Girl Online Going Solo (Girl Online #3) A Book Review

30340276

Author: Zoe Sugg
Genre: Young Adult. Romance. Contemporary.
Pages: 327
Published: November 17th 2016 by Penguin Books Ltd
Rating: 4/5

Synopsis:

As Penny starts the school year she’s ready to face the world – alone. Noah has gone off the radar after ending his world tour early and no one, including Penny, knows where he is. So when she accepts Megan’s invitation to visit her performing arts school it seems like an opportunity to make some new friends.

Helping everyone else seems to be the right remedy – Elliot needs her friendship more than ever, and she meets Posey, who she can really help with her stage fright. But is charming Scottish boy Callum the right kind of distraction? And can Penny truly move on when Noah’s shadow seems to haunt her round every corner?

Book three in the number-one bestselling Girl Online series.


Source: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30340276-girl-online-going-solo


Review:

Number 1. I did not expect that Girl Online will have it’s 3rd book.
Number 2. When I saw it in Goodreads, at first I’m not interested to read it. But I still hit “Want to read” since I have that feeling that I need to keep up with Penny’s life. LOL
Number 3. I kind of actually liked it!

I must admit that I enjoyed reading Girl Online and Girl Online: on Tour
(Books 1 & 2). I thought it was already the “happy ever after” version of Penny in Book 2
even though she and Noah didn’t end up being together and that life’s still pretty great
without Noah being in it. But then I guess Zoe Sugg doesn’t want to leave the story just like that so she wrote another one which I thought is also a good thing.

The first few chapters of the book is not that quite interesting but when you get to the middle chapters little by little it’s starting to make sense. Noah’s absence in the story made me “Finish the damn book!!”  like me myself really wanted to know where he’s been and what he’s up to. It’s as if I’m also looking for answers to the question “Why Noah? Why?”. I mean what kind of person just leaves and went MIA (missing in action) for a month and then comes back out of nowhere and pretend that everything’s fine. And Callum’s presence in the story made me think that maybe, just maybe PeNoah was just a one-summer-love story and that Callum is the guy she’s been waiting all along considering that the two of them have a lot in common, most especially in photography. But then, Noah’s come back changed everything and gave their love a second chance. After all, Love is lovelier the second time around. *winks

What I really liked about this book is that it just doesn’t focus on Penny and Noah’s love story. It also involves the value of friendship, family and seeing life in a positive way. Her friendship with Elliot (her gay BFF) is just so amazing and cute! Like when Elliot’s world fell apart when his parents decided to get divorced, Penny never leave his side.

Penny’s personality as the main character is truly inspiring. A lot of things happened to her but she did not give up and she even help out other people who’s in need despite of having her own problems. In the end, she got her first gallery show featuring her own photo collection (because she’s an aspiring photographer) and PeNoah’s comeback is real! ❤

I rated this book 4 out of 5 stars in my Goodreads account. I recommend you all to read the 3 books. It’s fun and exciting. Don’t forget to post your own review right on your Goodreads account (if you have)      🙂

Til next time! Happy Reading!  xoxo

Leave a Reply

